External Scientific Advisory Board

Formed in 2001, the External Scientific Advisory Board serves a key role in the Center's planning and evaluation of its research programs and supporting research infrastructure. The ESAB is comprised of nationally-recognized leaders in cancer research and treatment, including current and former directors of cancer centers, national experts in areas of cancer research that match the HCC's research programs, and an experienced cancer center administrator.

Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Pathology & Human Genetics
Emanuel N. Maisel Professor of Oncology
Chief, Division of Molecular Medicine & Genetics
Director, University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of Michigan

Edward Chu, M.D.

Professor and Chief of Division of Hematology-Oncology
Deputy Director, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute
Associate Director, Drug Discovery Institute
University of Pittsburgh

Terry Hyslop, Ph.D.

Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
Director of Biostatistics for Duke Cancer Institute
Duke University

Kimberly F. Kerstann, Ph.D.

Senior Director of Research Administration
Winship Cancer Institute, Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Emory University

Anita Kinney, Ph.D., RN

The Carolyn R. Surface Endowed Chair in Cancer Control
Associate Director for Cancer Control and Population Sciences
Professor of Division of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Preventive Medicine
University of New Mexico

Martin McMahon, Ph.D.

Professor of Dermatology
Senior Director of Preclinical Translation
Huntsman Cancer Center
University of Utah Medical Center

Thomas Sellers, Ph.D., MPH

Director, Cancer Center & Research Institute
Executive Vice President, Moffitt Cancer Center

Eileen White, Ph.D.

Chief Scientific Officer & Deputy Director
Associate Director for Basic Science
Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Cheryl Willman, M.D.

Professor of Pathology and Internal Medicine
Director & CEO, UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of New Mexico

Cassian Yee, M.D.

Professor of Immunology, Division of Cancer Medicine
Director, Solid Tumor Cell Therapy, Center for Cancer Immunology Research
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Douglas Yee, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
John H. Kersey Chair in Cancer Research
Director, Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota

Back to top Back to top