South Carolina Supporters of HPV Vaccination

In addition to MUSC Hollings Cancer Center, Dr. Jennifer Young Pierce and the MUSC Division of Gynecologic Oncology, South Carolina individuals and agencies on record as supporting the January 27, 2016, national statement from NCI-designated cancer centers urging for increased HPV vaccination for the prevention of cancer include the following:

  • American Cancer Society
  • American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
  • Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina
  • Heather M. Brandt, Ph.D., Cancer Prevention & Control Program, University of South Carolina
  • Sean T. Bryan, MD, chair, Department of Family Medicine,
    Greenville Health System; Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine, University of South Carolina School of Medicine – Greenville; Clinical Associate Professor, Clemson University School of Health Research
  • Judy Burgis, M.D., chair, Department of OB/GYN, USC Palmetto Health
  • Cervical Cancer-Free South Carolina
  • G. Thomas Chandler, M.S., Ph.D., Dean, Environmental Health and Marine Sciences, Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina
  • Amarinthia (Amy) Curtis, M.D., Gibbs Cancer Center & Research Institute, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Terry Day, M.D., director, MUSC Head and Neck Surgery
  • James R. Hebert, M.S.P.H., Sc.D., Health Sciences Distinguished Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina
  • James E. Hunter IV, M.D., Medical Group of the Carolinas – Gynecologic Oncology
  • William F. James, M.D., Medical Group of the Carolinas, Spartanburg Health System
  • T. Scott Jennings, M.D., Carolina Center of Gynecologic Oncology
  • E.J. Mayeaux, Jr., M.D., chairman, Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, University of South Carolina School of Medicine
  • Medical Group of the Carolinas, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • William M. Merritt, M.D., Gynecologic Oncology, Columbia, S.C.
  • MUSC Children's Hospital
  • J. Routt Reigart, M.D., president, South Carolina chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Rita Ryan, M.D., chair, MUSC Department of Pediatrics
  • William F. Schmidt, M.D., Ph.D., chair, Department of Pediatrics; medical director, Children's Hospital, Greenville Health System
  • South Carolina Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy
  • South Carolina Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics
  • South Carolina Coalition for Healthy Families
  • South Carolina Nursing Association
  • South Carolina Office of Rural Health
  • South Carolina Pharmacy Association
  • South Carolina Primary Healthcare Association
  • Donald W. Wiper III, M.D., chair, Greenville Health System Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Henry Well, executive director, South Carolina Cancer Alliance
Back to top Back to top